BBC Radio 1 studios tour

Last Friday, the other SMJs and I were given a tour round the building in central London which creates and records the live programs for BBC Radio 1 and Radio 1Xtra. Lately, I’ve been getting much more into the world of audio and radio (check out my recent audio interviews here) so to get given this opportunity was amazing. Also, as a young musician myself, it was even better when we got to briefly sit in the live studios while the programs were being presented. We saw Greg James’ live show and I even met the famous Tim Westwood and his guest, Lethal Bizzle on 1Xtra!

We were shown round by Amy Redmond who’s the social media producer for Radio 1’s Hackney Weekender (23 – 24 June) which I’m going to! She’s helping set up the Radio 1 and 1Xtra Academy in Hackney, which has managed to get famous stars from the borough to share their experiences to young people interested in similar careers.

It was great seeing how radio operates, and some of the behind-the-scenes producers gave us little talks about what they do and how which was interesting too. It was fascinating to see how Radio One‘s studios differed from my memories of my tour of BBC Radio 5 Live back in 2010.

About Joe Mason

My name is Joe Mason and I'm a 17 year-old Londoner living in Hackney, a host borough for the 2012 Olympic Games. I'm a keen, young journo and photographer, and through this blog will explore many ways I can show London and the Games in 2012. I am part of a group of students taking part in a program called Headstart. I am in the Social Media Journalist group with several other 15 - 25 year olds.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

