Some good news

After agony over applying, I now finally have a ticket to the Olympics! I feel like I’ve won a golden ticket to Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory, although, it’s to the Copper Box Arena. That’s where handball will be competed in so I’ll be excited to be in one of the more iconic stadiums as well as watching a popular European sport on the grandest stage. The ticket is not too pricey as well so I’m happy for now! I just don’t understand why they have taken so long to release more tickets?!

Image taken from http://www.london2012.com official website

Despite much public distaste for the building, I do quite like it. The fresh, dark colour of the copper (there’s 3,000 square metres of the stuff!) and its bold design contrasts some of the other more extravagant stadiums yet still stands out in the park. Many efficient and environmentally-friendly ideas were taken into account with this arena too; energy is saved (40% annually) through natural light sources and rainwater is re-used to reduce wasteful water use.

About Joe Mason

My name is Joe Mason and I'm a 17 year-old Londoner living in Hackney, a host borough for the 2012 Olympic Games. I'm a keen, young journo and photographer, and through this blog will explore many ways I can show London and the Games in 2012. I am part of a group of students taking part in a program called Headstart. I am in the Social Media Journalist group with several other 15 - 25 year olds.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

