BBC Introducing and the Manchester Jazz Festival

Week 2 on the internship merged two of my favourite things, jazz and Manchester, which teamed up last Friday night at Band on the Wall where I helped BBC Radio 3‘s Jazz on 3 record the event. Four contrasting, upcoming bands were selected by BBC Introducing and performed half hour sets which will be broadcast in next week’s Jazz on 3 (10th Aug @ 11pm).

My favourite of the groups was the first, an (almost) all girl group from South London called Nérija. The Hebrew word means lamp (or light) of God and such powerful energy is ubiquitous in their sound. Listen out for their unique style which blends jazz improvisation with afro-beats and I was particularly impressed by Sheila Maurice-Grey on trumpet, and Guitarist Shirley Tetteh, the latter who took lead in the changing atmosphere during their set. Maurice-Grey’s clean tone, mature presence, and versatile solos were impressive and she was my stand out performer of the event.

nerija

My role on the night was assisting with the production team whilst helping out the artists with any requirements. It was new and interesting to see how the sound engineer and one of the producers spent the whole evening parked outside the club in a small, sweaty, high-tech van listening to the event and doing their individual jobs. The whole day taught me a lot about events management and radio production. The role of radio producer is becoming ever more appealing to me and I appreciate the way they find the balance between what will work live and what will go well in the program, and how they interact and benefit each other.

About Joe Mason

My name is Joe Mason, I'm a 20 year-old Londoner living in Hackney, a host borough for the 2012 Olympic Games. Through this blog I explored how the Games affected local people. I was part of a group of students taking part in a program called Headstart. Now I use this as a platform for creative writing, audio, film, and digital.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

